How is Drunk Driving defined in Iowa?
Drunk Driving in Iowa is legally known as Operating While Intoxicated, or OWI. A person commits OWI when they operate a vehicle-sitting behind the wheel with the keys in the ignition counts-when they have a blood-alcohol content greater than .08 grams per deciliter of blood as measured by a breath sample, or any time their ability to safely operate a vehicle has been impaired by alcohol or another drug.
How much can I drink before driving and not commit OWI?
This varies from person to person, but the safest bet is never to drive after consuming any alcohol. While most people are below the legal limit after having one standard size drink (one twelve ounce beer, four ounces of wine or a one ounce shot of hard liquor), any amount of alcohol increases your risk of having an accident. It really is not worth the risk. If you will be driving, don’t drink. If you have been drinking, don’t drive.
What are the penalties for drunk driving in Iowa?
For first time drunk drivers, there is a minimum license suspension of 6 months, a minimum of two days in jail (the sentence is up to one year) and a $1250 fine. Defendants are also required to complete a substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment. Penalties for repeat drunk drivers increase in severity and can include prison.