What are the most common student conduct code violations or crimes involving alcohol?
The most common violations involving alcohol include Possessing Alcohol While Under the Legal Age (PAULA) and Public Intoxication. It is illegal to possess alcohol in Iowa if you are under 21. Possession can mean that you are carrying or holding an alcohol beverage, or it is in a container that belongs to you like a backpack or a car, or you otherwise have the right to control the alcohol. The police may make reasonable influences to conclude that alcohol that is in proximity to you is yours, for example, you may be cited for PAULA if you are under 21 and sit down at a table at a bar or restaurant with a glass of beer in front of you and an officer later enters the bar and observes the situation. You would then have to go to court and provide evidence that the alcohol was not yours and you did not possess it. If you are convicted of PAULA-1st offense, you will be fined $330.
What is the definition of being drunk in public or public intoxication?
Public Intoxication in Iowa is the crime of being in a public place and being intoxicated. A public place is defined as any place that the general public has the right to enter, even as a visitor, without obtaining permission from anyone. The front porch of a private residence is not public, but an unlocked, common hallway of an apartment building may be.
Intoxication is defined as by case law to be whenever (1) the person’s reason or mental ability has been affected; (2) the person’s judgment is impaired; (3) the person’s emotions are visibly excited; (4) the person has, to any extent, lost control of bodily actions or motions. State v. Bolden, 695 N.W.2d 506 (Iowa App. 2005) at *10.
Practically speaking, in Iowa City If the you have been drinking, and you are uncooperative with the police you run a high risk of being arrested for public intoxication.
If you are convicted of Public Intoxication-1st offense, you are facing a fine of $65 to $625 and 30 days in jail.
What are the open container laws in Iowa?
It is illegal in the entire state of Iowa to possess an open container of alcohol in a vehicle. In Iowa City, it is illegal to possess an open container of Alcohol in any public place that does not have a liquor license. This includes parks and parking lots and the sidewalk. It does not include the yard of a private building.
How late can I stay in the bars if I am under 21?
In Iowa City if you are under 21 years of age, you must exit any bar by 9:59:59 PM or face a $465 fine. The exception is if you are working, but you must actually be on the clock, not just going to a bar where you also happen to work.
What are the criminal or legal consequences of alcohol related crimes?
In Iowa, all alcohol offenses, from Open Container to PAULA, are defined as misdemeanors. This means that beyond any fine you must pay, being convicted of these offenses will result in you having a permanent criminal record that you will have to disclose on future job or graduate school applications.
How does the University handle alcohol violations?
The university treats alcohol violations seriously. Students who violate the code of conduct with respect to alcohol can face sanctions including fines, non-academic probation, up to expulsion from the University. Students accused of alcohol violations will receive notice of the violation that includes instructions for how to contest the violation.
Is there an EMS service I can call if I am drunk on campus? Will students get in trouble for calling on campus EMS?
Calling EMS on campus is done by calling 911. When 911 is called on campus, the University of Iowa Police will respond and EMS and fire may respond depending on the situation. A student would not get in trouble with the University for calling EMS on campus if there is a valid reason for calling EMS. Calling 911 when there is no reason to do so may result in criminal charges.